RSS Feed

Book Review: Switched (The Trylle Trilogy)

Switched (Trylle Trilogy, Book 1) by Amanda Hocking

I so wanted to love this book – I assumed, after loving her other books, I would love this series. How mistaken I was! What a disappointing read!

I was swept away with the magic and fantasy of Hocking’s My Blood Approves series and Hollowland (the first of the Hollows series), but it seems if you read one of her series, you’ve read them all! As I was reading Switched, I grew bored with how much it resembled her other series (My Blood Approves, The Hollows). If you’ve read her other series, you’re likely to notice they’re all almost carbon copies of each other, just with a few changes of names – Alice and her Vampires, Wendy and her Trolls, and Remy and her zombies. Even the wording, phrases and characters were a little deja vu for me.

The stories all follow a distinct theme, regardless of series – awkward teenage misfit with attitude; only real family is her brother; suddenly gets swept away into some kind of adventure; along the way she discovers she’s ‘special’ and everyone wants a piece of her; is protected by handsome boy in mid-twenties who she can’t decide if she loves or hates, he falls in love with her and is hopelessly devoted and would die protecting her after only knowing her a few days; plantonic male friendship who’s relationship makes her love interest declare his feelings of love and jealousy; she has to choose between her new found destiny and her brother, while fighting some evil people who want her for themselves…etc etc.

If you can read that sort of story over and over, you’ll love these books. They’re magical and the characters are fun and lovable and the story is hopelessly addictive. But, I just don’t have the patience to read the Tyrlle trilogy after reading My Blood Approves. I loved My Blood Approves but reading the Trylle Trilogy just makes me cringe and I got bored very quickly. If I had read this series before the My Blood Approves books, maybe I’d feel differently, but having read Switched just afterwards, it was just too similar. There’s definitely potential there, but the pattern that Hocking sticks to means the excitement of reading all her books are lost.

Although Switched is currently only 49p in the Kindle Store, even that seems overpriced when I’ve already ‘read’ this by reading the author’s other work.

2 Stars **

Switched (Trylle Trilogy, Book 1) by Amanda Hocking on Amazon

Leave a Reply

